All About The Turkish Language

Turkish has several dialects. The Turkish dialects can be divided into two major groups: Western dialects and Eastern dialects. The Turkish Language belongs to the Altay branch of the Ural-Altaic linguistic family, the same as Finnish and Hungarian languages. It is the westernmost of the Turkic languages spoken across Central Asia and is generally classified as a member of the South-West group. Other Turkic languages, all of which are closely related, include Azerbaijani (Azeri), Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Tatar, Turkmen, Uighur, Uzbek, and many others spoke from the Balkans across Central Asia into northwestern China and southern Siberia. Turkic languages are often grouped with Mongolian and Tungusic languages in the Altaic language family.

Throughout the span of history, the Turkish have spread over a wide geographical area, taking their language with them. Turkish-speaking people have lived in a wide area stretching from today’s Mongolia to the north coast of the Black Sea, the Balkans, East Europe, Anatolia, Iraq, and a wide area of northern Africa. Due to the distances involved, various dialects and accents have emerged.

You may also like...